Design Museum announces nominees for the Beazley Designs of the Year

Revealing the most unique designs of the last year, the Design Museum announces the 87 nominees for the eleventh Beazley Designs of the Year exhibition and awards.
The large shortlist of 87 nominees has been revealed for the categories of fashion, graphics, architecture, product, digital and transport today. The list includes a water bottle by Will and Jaden Smith, Nike’s crest for the Dutch women’s football team by Wieden+Kennedy and the LEGO House by Bjarke Ingels Group. Nominations also include electronic self-healing and recyclable skin, the Louvre Abu Dhabi, Burberry’s rainbow check and Royal Ballet costumes designed by Erdem.

Selected by a panel of renowned international designers, curators and critics, the awards showcase the most original and impactful products, concepts and designers in the world today. Among those focusing on the environment Formafantasma’s recycled furniture, LADbible’s Trash Isles campaign and an animation illustrating the dangers of mounting space debris.

Beazley Designs of the Year exhibition brings a various selection of industries, objects and technologies in one exhibition. The fashion category includes items from Nike’s Nigeria National Football Team collection, pieces from Palomo Spain’s SS 2018 Menswear collection and Matty Bovan’s debut collection. The rainbow check by Christopher Bailey for Burberry and Fenty Beauty by Rihanna – the world’s first plastic-free shopping aisle are amongst nominees for the fashion and product categories and reflect designs that show a commitment to inclusivity.
Product innovation section brings advance healthcare systems across the globe including; PlenOptika’s Quicksee, a portable eye test that anyone can use, improving eye health in developing countries, and SurgiBox an inflatable tent that operates as a sterile operating theatre in remote areas.
Curated by Aric Chen of M+ museum in Hong Kong, the exhibition honours the sustainability and ground breaking product designs.

A winner will be selected in each category and one overall winner will be announced on Thursday 15 November 2018. The winners for the each category will be announced on 15 November. Beazley Designs of the Year will be on display from 12 September 2018 – 6 January 2019.

Image: Design Museum

Kind People PR